Happy Sixth Chris!

Christopher turned six on Monday. SIX! How did that happen so quickly? To celebrate his big day, I decided to show up at his school for a little lunch (um, cafeterias still smell the same 20 years later and the food is as gross as ever).

Ew

Ew

Duh, we had to have a birthday school cafeteria selfie showcasing the applesauce.

Duh, we had to have a birthday school cafeteria selfie showcasing the applesauce.

"CHRIS, take ONE BITE of your lunch." "OK Mama, I will take one bite when you take one bite." DAMN IT, Chris won that battle.

“Chris, take ONE bite of your pasta.”
“OK Mama, I will take one bite when you take one bite.”       DAMN IT, Chris won that battle.

After the school day was over, I took Chris and Em to the happiest place on Earth. McDonald’s, obviously.

photo

Chris was happy because they had Spiderman toys in the Happy Meal, Em was happy because they had Spidergirl headbands, I was happy because after they ate, they ran for 45 minutes and didn’t ask me a single question – they didn’t even want me to see their faces for fear that I would drag them out of there.

Eating chicken nuggets like they're going out of style...

Eating chicken nuggets like they’re going out of style…

"CAN WE PLEASE GO PLAY?!"

“CAN WE PLEASE GO PLAY?!”

After we ate and played, we went home and all went straight to bed. Happy sixth birthday Chris!

Oh and have no fear, the boy ate cake. The night before his actual birthday, my parents had us over for a very last minute surprise party for the little guy. He ate cake and enthusiastically ripped open a present or two. He was a happy happy happy boy!

Cake

Cake

Obligatory candle blowing out shot...

Obligatory candle blowing out shot…

Duh, a surprise birthday party family selfie. No gathering or moment is complete without one.

Duh, a surprise birthday party family selfie. No gathering or moment is complete without one.

WAIT, there is more! Sentimental moment I don’t want to forget… After lunch wrapped up, we were waiting in line to walk back to Christopher’s classroom and he said “Mama, will you hold me?” It was his birthday, so there was no way I was going to say no. I scooped him up and he wrapped his legs around my waist and laid his head on my shoulder. I immediately got choked up because I realized that the days of him wanting me to hold him in front of his entire school are numbered. The days I am actually able to hold him in my arms are numbered. The time just went too fast. So I rubbed his back and felt his eyelashes tickle my neck and held him so tight. And if anyone saw me cry a tiny bit, it was the teachers and they’re probably so used to crying in the cafeteria (usually by the 6 year olds though) that they were able to act business as usual.

Happy Sixth Christopher James Buckner, you are my love!

About BucknerBlog

A family of four, sharing the random day to day stuff...
This entry was posted in Christopher and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Sixth Chris!

  1. John Buckner says:

    Great post! This makes me so happy!

  2. Bill O'Connor says:

    Very nice. We can’t wait to celebrate with all of you.

Leave a Reply

