Sleeping Like A Baby…. STILL.

When Christopher and Em were newborns, I remember thinking “this won’t last forever, soon they’ll sleep through the night…” I eagerly clung to the bright future of uninterrupted sleep. Well, here is what the last two nights have been like…

Sunday, 11:45 pm: I heard Emmy chatting with someone. I went to check on her, she was just sleep talking.

Middle of the night, 12:30 a.m: “Daddy? Where’s my headband? I need my hair bow.” I walk out and find Emmy sleepwalking in circles and looking for her sparkly headband. I put it on, tucked her into bed, went back to sleep.

3 a.m: Emmy climbs into bed with me, I am too tired to move her out, so I pretend I don’t notice.

3:47 a.m: kick, kick, kick. Dang it, I should have moved her back to her bed.

5 a.m: I hear Christopher’s voice… “Mommy, I just throwed up in my bed.”

6 a.m: My alarm goes off for the day.

Last night was fairly similar…

11:30 p.m: I hear little boy wailing. I run to his bed, assuming he is about to throw up again. Nope it was nothing, he was still asleep.

12:30 a.m: A blanket was lost and rediscovered.

4:30 a.m: Christopher’s voice again… “Mommy, what time is it?” He was sleep talking, so I didn’t answer.

5:15 a.m: Emmy remembered the night before when I didn’t move her and slept walked right back to my bed.

6 a.m: Alarm.

No wonder I’m ready for bed by 9 p.m every night!

Sleeping like a baby...

Sleeping like a baby…

So peaceful...

So peaceful…

Sometimes, when they sleep, I think they look so sweet and cute - I have to keep myself from waking them up and covering them with kisses...

Sometimes, when they sleep, I think they look so sweet and cute – I have to keep myself from waking them up and covering them with kisses…

About BucknerBlog

A family of four, sharing the random day to day stuff...
This entry was posted in Christopher, Emmy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sleeping Like A Baby…. STILL.

  1. Bill O'Connor says:

    It’s amazing how much bed those little bodies can occupy and just how little sleep is available to the bigger body in bed with them.

  2. Margie says:

    Oh my, a child’s world of sleep is so mysterious. I love these cuties. What a mixed blessing when they want to share a bed with us.

Leave a Reply

