Good Bye Old Friend

Today, we said good bye to our kitty, Gracie.

Gracie has been with me for 14 years. She helped me through college, through my first job. She dealt with Johnny’s allergies towards her and let the kids ride around on top of her back. She’d wake up at 4:30 am and stare out the window, desperate to get to the chirping birds.

And she was one of the best friends I ever had.

I have been in a bit of denial over the last few months of her declining health, but today we made the decision that it was her time to pass on. Her sister, Cici, was already in Heaven – so I felt ok knowing Gracie had her best friend/mortal enemy to greet her.

Screen shot 2013-06-06 at 9.47.29 PM

Our last picture of Gracie, taken in May 2013

When we said good bye to Cici, Christopher was sad but did not totally understand. Today was a different story. When I broke the news, he cried so hard he was splotchy.

“What can I do to make you feel better?”

“The only thing… sob, sob… that will make me happy… wail… is a scuba mask…!”

(And yes, I obviously went straight from saying good bye to Gracie to Target to get him a scuba mask.)

Other sweet things I don’t want to forget about today:

-Chris woke up before Emmy, so I broke the news to him first. He laid next to Grace and rubbed and hugged her. We sat with her for about 30 minutes, then we heard Emmy come out of her room. I said “OK Chris, now we have to tell Emmy.” He started to wail and said “I just don’t think I can pull it together!”

-On the way to take him to my mom’s, I tried to play his favorite song to brighten him up. He said “Stop the song! Gracie means more to me than this song!”

– After I held Gracie, said my goodbyes, and walked out of the office – I ran into my best friend Sarah in the waiting room. She didn’t want me to have to be alone. I am lucky to have her. We cried and hugged in the parking lot and she made walking out just a little bit easier.

– Within three seconds of Johnny’s arrival from work, Christopher looked up at him through his big, brown, teary eyes and said “Daddy, I want a doggie.” Within twenty seconds of Johnny’s arrival from work, we were researching dogs.

– What about Emmy? She is only two and does not understand what is going on. As I was leaving my mom’s to go to the vet, Emmy waved and said “Bye Gracie! Have fun at the doctor office!”

In closing, Gracie was a special cat. She forced everyone’s love – if you have ever been to this house, she has made you rub her from head to toe. She was a chatterbox, and would always just meow and talk to you. She let my kids drag her around without a fight. She has been my one constant since July of 1999 and I miss her already…

About BucknerBlog

A family of four, sharing the random day to day stuff...
This entry was posted in Buckner Family, Milestones and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good Bye Old Friend

  1. the rauh fam says:

    hugs. love you and love these memories.

  2. Amanda says:

    OMG, I had no idea… I loved your kitties!!! 😦

Leave a Reply

