Yes Day, Grandparent Style

“Hey Dad, I just wanted to warn you that we’re having a ‘Yes Day‘ when you visit.”

“What’s a ‘Yes Day?'”

“Well, it’s basically a day when we don’t say no to Christopher.”

“WHAT?!” said my Dad, definitely having visions of new puppies and buying new toys.

“Well, there are limits. The point of yes day is to just be really involved with Chris. There are so many times in a day where I say ‘Sure, I’ll read that book – but let me do the dishes really quick.’ or ‘Eh, paint? No… That’s sort of messy.’ or ‘NO, you can’t have ice cream for lunch, but here are green beans!’ or ‘Let’s play pretend/build a fort/color that picture together later.’ Yes Day is about just saying yes to those questions.”

My dad laughed. “Well, that doesn’t sound like a Yes Day, it sounds like being a grandparent.”

Where a reindeer balloon animal on my head? SURE!

Where a reindeer balloon animal on my head? SURE!

About BucknerBlog

A family of four, sharing the random day to day stuff...
This entry was posted in Christopher, Grandparents and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

