My Boy Versus My Girl, Getting Dressed

A new part of Emmy’s night time routine is outfit selection. I hold her in front of her closet and through a series of “Um, no. No.” and “Yes, that one! The sparkly one”, we are able to pick her outfit for the next day. There is no rhyme or reason to what she chooses to wear, and I am always kept on my toes.

One day it’ll be; “But Emmy, this one shines bright like a diamond.”

“NO SHINE BRIGHT DIAMOND!”

Then the next day I offer her jeans and she wants sparkles. She is also unpredictable in the morning, when it’s time to put the outfit on her body. What she wanted the night before is not always what speaks to her in the morning. So we wrestle, I beg, she kicks and we start from the beginning.

Today's outfit. Purple sparkle dress ("No jacket!"), black tights with diamonds on the side. pink sparkle TOMS, and her "shine bright diamond Aliison hairbow." I lucked out with the hairbow, it is also purple - she doesn't care about petty things like matching.

Today’s outfit. Purple sparkle dress (“No jacket!”), black tights with diamonds on the side. pink sparkle TOMS, and her “shine bright diamond Aliison hairbow.” I lucked out with the hairbow, it is also purple – she doesn’t care about petty things like matching.

Some of you may ask “Why don’t you just put her clothes on her and let that be that?!” Well, I wish it was that easy. I have tried to just dress her in what I picked out, but if she doesn’t want to wear that particular item, she stiffens out and it is a virtual impossibility to put clothing on her body (even with the help of Daddy), BUT if we offer what she wants, she dresses herself.

NOW, onto Christopher. After 15 minutes of slowly and carefully picking out Emmy’s dress, I went to Christopher. “Hey baby, what do you want to wear tomorrow?” I went to his closet and pulled out several shirts to show to him.

Without looking up from his Hot Wheels race track, he said “Mama, you know I don’t care. Just pick it.” So I pulled out jeans and a shirt. Then this morning he put the clothes on himself and that was that.

His only request? His Raphael mask and swords.

Today’s outfit. Jeans and a shirt. His only request? His Raphael mask and swords.

Ah, children. Just when you think you know them, they surprise you. I bet tomorrow she won’t care what she wears and he’ll insist on only wearing sweatpants (he’d only be following my example, except my pants are yoga pants – that makes it better, right….?)

 

About BucknerBlog

A family of four, sharing the random day to day stuff...
This entry was posted in Christopher, Emmy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

