Two Great Choices

(I want to apologize in advance for the rambling I am about to do.)

I have never had to make a hard choice.  College, a job after graduation, fun roommates, I met someone great, got married, bought a house and babies arrived (boy first and then a girl, in that order of course).

I have had hardships, but for the most part – I have always known where life would take me next.  And God has certainly blessed me.

Since Emmy arrive, I have been struggling between two great choices.  Go back to work or stay home?  Work is the safe answer – I know what it is like to be a working mom.

BUT today I made the decision to leave my AMAZING job and stay home with thekiddos.  It was the most difficult decision I have ever made.  Why?  Because I loved my job.  The people are smart, talented, kind and encouraging.  Sure I got annoyed with silly stuff, but overall, I was really happy.  I learned new things, worked with cool people, saw New York City for the first time, I even went with my boss to see President Obama speak (I could write a really long post on the amazing people who worked on the team).

But now, for the first time in my life, I start on a path of the unknown.  Will everything be ok?  Will my kids get sick of me?  Will I get sick of them?  Will I have regrets?  Will I be a good mom?

I think the answers to all those questions are “probably yes.”  But that’s ok.

About BucknerBlog

A family of four, sharing the random day to day stuff...
This entry was posted in Buckner Family, Milestones and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Two Great Choices

  1. Ashley says:

    You are so right! You are very blessed. Enjoy every second. Sure, there will be challenges but you will get to see so much through their eyes!
    Stay in touch. I already miss you!
    Ash

  2. Brenda Myers says:

    This is one of many tough decisions you will make, Sarah, but what counts most is that your heart feels good about it — and I think yours does. We’ll miss you terribly, but this new path will be just another amazing journey that you will no doubt embrace and manage with your usual talent and zest for life.

  3. Kori says:

    Oh boo and hiss!! Can I be like one of those dogs who grab on to the back of your heel as you are leaving the house (work in this case) to make you not leave, so that you have to be forced to drag me around and shake me off! Don’t be surprised if you get into your car after cleaning your office and look back to me sitting in the back strapped into the car seat not budging until you come back in!!!! No, really, all jokes aside, although I love to kid, you are great and will be great and you are very smart and you know what you are doing. You can come over to my house for some wine, well in your case, white russians!! when you need a break!! I love you very much….

  4. Natalie says:

    Sarah,
    You are going to have SO much fun! Congratulations on your beautiful family and the opportunity to stay home with your kids. I am sure you will love it. They will never get tired of you, maybe just annoyed because you will be right every time they try to tell you that you aren’t 🙂

    xo!

  5. Bill O'Connor says:

    Dear Sweetie, I don’t think a life is worth living if you don’t have to face difficult choices. You and Johnny made this choice with loving kindness, thoughtful consideration, and the knowledge that you were leaving a group of people and, possibly, a career that you had worked your entire adult life to join. Everyone involved, except possibly the kids, will feel some sadness about the choice. Feel grateful that you were able to work in such a great place and make such mutually beneficial relationships that those special people also feel sadness. And feel especially grateful that you have the choice.
    Love,
    Dad

  6. Margie says:

    Dear Sarah. Either decision would have turned out to be a good decision; but you followed your heart! When your dad called me with the news, I had just put my 8 month old great nephew to nap, and this heightened my tears of joy for you. Moments with little ones are so fleeting and precious. And Christopher and Emmy are never far from my mind and heart. I know you and Johnny agonized over this, but you a very special team and you’re going forward on this adventure with the same love and enthusiasm that you put into everything and everyone else in your life. And I’m not surprised that your boss and folks at work were so wonderful about it.

  7. Jeremy Williams says:

    Sarah,

    We’ll certainly miss you at IOTD – It’s been great working with someone who completely gets digital and social media like you do – but I know you’ll enjoy your time at home with the kids!

  8. Jaime Bohler Smith says:

    Oh Sarah! I am thrilled for you that you have such an amazing opportunity to stay home with the little ones, and trust that the work you do raising them will be just as fulfilling as working outside the home. I know you will be missed, you’ve grown so much in the years I’ve know you with the CVB. You’re so talented I know that wherever you go and whatever you do it will be fantastic. I look forward to more ramblings as Christopher and Emmy show you all about the world. 🙂 Congratulations!

  9. BucknerBlog says:

    Thank you everyone for your kind comments! I am really going to miss the CVB, it was the greatest place ever to work – the new me will be a VERY lucky person.

  10. Pingback: The Pros and Cons of Staying Home | BucknerBlog

Leave a Reply

